If you're an employee for a company in Florida, state law typically requires your employer to compensate you at 1.5 times your normal rate for every hour that your work overtime or "off the clock." Since the minimum wage in Florida is $7.67 per hour, which means that your employer is legally required to pay you at least $11.51 per hour for all the time you spend working beyond an eight hour day or forty hour week.
If your employer is forcing you to work unpaid or underpaid overtime by threatening to fire or suspend you, you have options. You may be entitled to back wages as well as damages from your employer if he or she is found to have engaged in fraudulent or illegal acts. Florida workers are protected by the Fair Labor Standards Act, and in accordance with state law, your employer is forbidden from threatening you or retaliating against you if you file a complaint to collect the overtime pay that you may be owed.
Hire an Unpaid Overtime Attorney in Miami
You have up to two years to collect back pay, but if your employer is found guilty of willfully or knowingly breaking the law, the statute of limitations is extended to three years. Your job may be exempt from overtime pay, but check first, and if you're owed back wages, take action by filing a claim with the Florida Department of Labor. A qualified unpaid overtime attorney in Miami can help you register your complaint or file a civil suit against your employer for unpaid overtime if the Department of Labor can't resolve your case.
If you believe your employer or past employer owes you overtime wages, contact Remer & Georges-Pierre, PLCC Law Firm at (305) 416-5000 or visit http://www.rgpattorneys.com/ for a Free Consultation.
Image By: matiasjajaja